A surveyor first saw the lake in 1887. He mentioned it to a retired British colonel, Robert O'Hara, who made several visits. The lake became known as O'Hara's Lake.
The number of visitors is controlled in an attempt to reduce the impacts on the alpine vegetation. Bus transportation is available (reservation only)
The main attractions are the more then two douzaine of lakes, the rugged peaks and the alpine meadows. Many names in this area are Stoney in origin and were given by Samuel Allan.