In 1882, Tom Wilson was packing some supplies when he heard what he believed was thunder rolling through the valley from Laggan (now known as Lake Louise Village). Stoney natives, camped nearby, told him it was from avalanches on “Snow Mountain above Lake of Little Fishes”. The following day, a native guide and Wilson visited the lake. Wilson named it “Emerald Lake” because of its color. Two years later the name was changed to Lake Louise in honor of Princess Louise Caroline Alberta, 4th daughter of Queen Victoria.
The elevation is 1731 m. or at 200 m. above Lake Louise Village.